Disaster Recovery after Viral Infection

Author
mjaestewart
New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)New Member (2 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Ok, so I've been using the paid version of Macrium Reflect for the past 5 years and upgraded every time there was a new product release. Right now I'm using Windows 10 Pro with the integrated WinPE integration for adding Macrium to the Boot Menu for recovering data or committing to a full system state recovery based on the the backup sets. Anyway, I will provide you my current setup, the issues I've encountered, and how Macrium Reflect saved me from hours of rebuilding, updating, and setting up my machine.

My Current Macrium Setup:
==============================
Right now, I am backing up 5 volumes with a total of ~12TB of data along with backing up my System Volume that hosts my OS (C:\ Volume). Because I am working with a large number of files, and such a huge amount of data (~12TB), I've really taken advantage of Macrium's Synthetic Full backups. Basically, I do 1 full backup across all of my volumes, then do incremental backups for life. Because I have a lot of data that does not change, synthetic backups make sense since every backup after the first Full backup is only going to backup the changed files. I use the WinPE integration, so I do not need a recovery media disc, and have to worry about getting the proper drivers to add to the disc. Honestly, if you have the proper knowledge, and have the paid version, then I would suggest using the WinPE integration. It works flawlessly!!! I stagger my backups every night starting at 6:00pm EST, with my final backup kicking off at 1am EST across all volumes. 

The Viral ISSUE:
=============================