System freeze from Image Guardian driver ?

Author
Mark8686
New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)New Member (16 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello,
Relative noob here with limited knowledge, so please be gentle..
I have Reflect 7.2 installed, build 3957, on Win 7 x64. I have been experiencing what I know to be system freezes (hangs ? lock-ups ?) for weeks now. Very intermittent as in sometimes once ro twice a day, sometimes every other day... The system just hangs, I think the mouse cursor disappears, no disk activity light, keyboard not responding, and it does not unfreeze, so I need to hit Reset. No bsods, no errors. This is a 6 y/o computer that I built, it does not overheat at all, it's been cleaned, fans work, etc... I've reseated the RAM, even replaced the PSU hoping... and thinking it was 6 y/o anyway...

Upon further snooping around and with my little understanding of all things Windows : I've found in Event Viewer > System that it seems every one of the last freezes I've had is preceeded by an event linked to "MacriumImageGuardian" and I also see a quick succession of roughly 15 "mrcbt" events just before the critical error (kernel), due to the reset I guess. So... I dediced to disable Image Guardian completely and take it from there. Anotehr freeze/hang this morning ; checked Event Viewer and noticed the same pattern with the ImageGuardian driver and mrcbt events. Double-checked the settings, Guardian definitely disabled completely (I chose the "Permanently Off" option to disable it yesterday).

Another detail : I have a Crucial MX300 (SATA SSD) as system drive, which is the one I image (incrementally) to an internal HDD. These events began weeks ago, before I installed the latest firmware for the MX300, so that didn't help.