Created VMs not visible in viBoot (but are in Hyper-V)

Author
tlennie
New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm new to viBoot but already a big fan. I'm running it on a W10 Pro laptop, and have created a couple of VMs from Reflect images (W10 and W7).

I've been using Hyper-V Manager to launch my VMs for a few days now, making changes, and wanted to take a backup of the current state. That's when I realised that the VMs are not actually visible in viBoot anymore (if they ever were).

The registry entry that viBoot reads on startup (when 'Refreshing virtual machines list, namely "HKLM\Software\Macrium\viBoot\Machines\0"') points to a single image location, so all I get in the "Virtual Machines" pane is one entry of "Unassigned Virtual Disks", and in the "Mounted Images" pane the filepath of that one image. In Hyper-V Manager I still see all my VMs just fine.

Has the registry maybe got garbled when I've been switching between Hyper-V Manager and viBoot? And if so, can I edit it to get viBoot back in sync?

Anshul
Anshul
Macrium Representative
Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)Macrium Representative (1 reputation)

Macrium Viboot queries the Hyper-V management service to get the list of VMs. As you can see all the VMs in Hyper-V manager but not in viboot, its hard to say why viboot is not able to get that list.
Please can you open a support ticket so we can investigate further:
https://www.macrium.com/support

tlennie
tlennie