Synthetic Full Backup - Safety


Author
Message
Anger78
Anger78
New Member
New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 2, Visits: 2
Hi,

i just noticed that trying to mount an image while the Job is running and consolidating runs into an Error...
Does this mean that anything like Power failure etc. happens while consolidating leads into full lost of any backup?

thanks in advance

regards

Daniel

Nick
Nick
Macrium Representative
Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.6K reputation)
Group: Administrators
Posts: 1.5K, Visits: 8.3K
Anger78 - 27 June 2018 12:32 PM
Hi,

i just noticed that trying to mount an image while the Job is running and consolidating runs into an Error...
Does this mean that anything like Power failure etc. happens while consolidating leads into full lost of any backup?

thanks in advance

regards

Daniel

Hi Daniel, thanks for posting.

The consolidation process is non-destructive and backup files will revert to their previous sate in the event of consolidation interruption for any reason.  If the consolidation folder is rendered unavailable mid consolidation, due to power loss or network disconnection etc, then backup files are reverted the next time the folder is accessed by Reflect. 

Kind Regards

Nick - Macrium Support

Edited 27 June 2018 12:42 PM by Nick
Anger78
Anger78
New Member
New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 2, Visits: 2
Nick - 27 June 2018 12:41 PM
Anger78 - 27 June 2018 12:32 PM
Hi,

i just noticed that trying to mount an image while the Job is running and consolidating runs into an Error...
Does this mean that anything like Power failure etc. happens while consolidating leads into full lost of any backup?

thanks in advance

regards

Daniel

Hi Daniel, thanks for posting.

The consolidation process is non-destructive and backup files will revert to their previous sate in the event of consolidation interruption for any reason.  If the consolidation folder is rendered unavailable mid consolidation, due to power loss or network disconnection etc, then backup files are reverted the next time the folder is accessed by Reflect. 

nice to hear that,

otherwise it seemed to be a little fragile to use it anymore...

thank you for the quick response!

best regards

Daniel
jphughan
jphughan
Most Valuable Professional
Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.7K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 3.3K, Visits: 24K
Just to add a “customer testimonial”, I asked Nick about various types of failure scenarios before implementing this and was assured that Macrium while designing this had tried interrupting the process at all possible stages and it never created an integrity problem or an inability to recover later. I personally have been supporting a site that has used Synthetic Fulls for over 18 months to a rotation of 9 disks and it has worked flawlessly. Even on the two occasions where the on-site person responsible for disk rotations disconnected the current destination disk in the middle of a consolidation, Reflect cleaned things up the next time it saw that disk and had to run a consolidation operation.
GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Similar Topics

Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search