What can I use instead of external USB3's?

Author
siringo
Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)Junior Member (60 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm currently backing up a mix of remote servers & workstations to directly connected external USB 3 disks.
This works pretty well however sometimes after reboots I've found that these devices can 'disappear' from Windows and not be relocatable until unplugged and plugged back in.

This got me to thinking, is there a device that can attach to the network so it can be managed & monitored remotely that uses a USB3 interface for backups?

I'm not a NAS expert, but from what I can see most if not all NAS's back up over a LAN connection, which is quite a bit slower than a USB3 connection.

Or will anything that uses a USB connection 'disappear' from time to time just like my current USB3 disks & that is why most if not all NAS's back up over a LAN connection?

Thanks for any help.
jphughan
jphughan
Most Valuable Professional
Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.3K reputation)