viBoot fails to load windows 7 image

Author
Zzzzu
New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi, I am relatively new to using Macrium and viBoot. The problem is that when I try and run viBoot on a image of a Win7 machine it gets stuck on "Starting Windows" message and does not boot any further. I have checked the ram allocation, number of processors and still no luck fixing this.
I've attached an image of where it is stuck.
My guess: Since viBoot uses Hyper-V could it be a problem with the generation version of the VM that is created? From what I know Win7 needs to be run under generation 1, however viBoot makes a generation 2 VM. 
Im running Macrium/viBoot on a windows 10 Pro machine.
Thanks guys

jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (6.6K reputation)
Is the image you're trying to viBoot from a GPT disk rather than an MBR disk?  GPT is unusual to find with Windows 7, but it does exist.  If that's the case, then Hyper-V would have to use a Gen 2 VM because GPT disks have to be booted in UEFI mode, and only Gen 2 VMs support UEFI.  Gen 1 only supports Legacy BIOS booting.  However, Windows 7 does not fully support the UEFI spec; it has some legacy dependencies that require access to Legacy Option ROMs, which Gen 2 VMs do not offer since they present a purely UEFI platform, which in turn is why Win7 does not work with Gen 2 VMs.  In that case, you may be stuck trying to boot this particular image.