Macrium Image Guardian and limited number of backups


Author
Message
Hans L
Hans L
New Member
New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 7, Visits: 11
How does Macrium Image Guardian handle backups that need to be deleted because the user has prescribed a certain max number of backup files?
Thanks,
Hans L

jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (5.9K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 4K, Visits: 29K
Macrium Image Guardian allows Macrium applications (and optionally, Robocopy under certain circumstances) to modify and delete backups, so MIG will not interfere with deletions or other modifications that Reflect performs to comply with your retention policy or free disk space threshold. You can also manually delete backups within Reflect while MIG is active. It’s just that no OTHER applications can modify your backup files while MIG is active, including you working within Windows Explorer. Macrium has a nice KB article about this feature here if you haven’t seen it: https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/plugins/servlet/mobile?contentId=8726408#content/view/8726408
Edited 24 January 2018 9:58 PM by jphughan
Hans L
Hans L
New Member
New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)New Member (10 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 7, Visits: 11
jphughan - 24 January 2018 9:56 PM
Macrium Image Guardian allows Macrium applications (and optionally, Robocopy under certain circumstances) to modify and delete backups, so MIG will not interfere with deletions or other modifications that Reflect performs to comply with your retention policy or free disk space threshold. You can also manually delete backups within Reflect while MIG is active. It’s just that no OTHER applications can modify your backup files while MIG is active, including you working within Windows Explorer. Macrium has a nice KB article about this feature here if you haven’t seen it: https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/plugins/servlet/mobile?contentId=8726408#content/view/8726408

Thank you, and I will look at the KB.

Regards/Hans L

GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Similar Topics

Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search