Cloning windows 10 system disk

Author
DomA
New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)New Member (29 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
So first off, let me say I'm a PC noob as far as tech goes, but I get the basics.

I have a setup in Macrium for a variety of backups and one is a weekly bootable clone of the system disk.
The disk is in a front sata port, is on and ready for the scheduled backup.

Works great. Except, once in a while, on startup the BIOS tries to scan and repair the disk, which takes awhile.
If you stop it it corrupts/wipes the disk. It's done this consistently on two separate drives so it shouldn't be faulty hardware.

A noob guess is boot is seeing two boot disks with exact same fie structure and is getting confused?
Luckily its only hassling the backup clone, for now anyway. I can do this manually now and then but was hoping for a more automatic approach.
This isn't really even a direct macrium issue, but I thought I'd ask.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks.
Dom

Nick
Nick
Macrium Representative
Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)Macrium Representative (2.3K reputation)
Group: Administrators
DomA - 2 December 2017 7:07 PM
So first off, let me say I'm a PC noob as far as tech goes, but I get the basics.

I have a setup in Macrium for a variety of backups and one is a weekly bootable clone of the system disk.
The disk is in a front sata port, is on and ready for the scheduled backup.

Works great. Except, once in a while, on startup the BIOS tries to scan and repair the disk, which takes awhile.