How to redeploy hard drive from current laptop to new laptop (Dissimilar hardware)

Author
markysparks68
New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)New Member (4 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi,
In the past I have cloned an old hard drive onto a new upgraded hard drive successfully although using Acronis on the same laptop. I have found the later versions of Acronis to be cumbersome and error prone and have since moved over to Macrium Reflect Version 7.

In this instance I want to redeploy the drive in my current laptop over to a new laptop of dissimilar hardware, from an Acer Aspire to a HP Pavilion. I have never used this method before. Both laptops are UEFI; I wish to redeploy my Windows 8.1 SSD hard drive with all that is on it over to the new laptop to keep the current configuration but I do not quite grasp the principles required using Macrium deploy. I understand I have to first boot the target PC with the Windows PE rescue CD or USB equivalent. Then it says click redeploy image to new hardware. I am confused at this stage as to what this means. I had planned to install a new SSD hard drive in the target laptop, replacing the SATA drive, so I assume I am restoring a backed up image of my current laptop hard drive onto the new drive on the target laptop? 

Then it goes on to say insert a driver disk for the hardware you are going to boot from. This will typically be the motherboard or RAID card driver CD. This part I am also confused about. How do I create a driver disk for the hardware I am going to boot? Is this telling to me I need to create disk of all the drivers on my current laptop for the motherboard/raid card driver? Isn't it the drivers from the target laptop that are important which at the boot stage will be searched to allow making the redeployed image work on it?