Macrium Image Guardian Information?


Author
Message
James Cole
James Cole
New Member
New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)
Group: Awaiting Activation
Posts: 29, Visits: 182
With Macrium Image Guardian turned on in "Other Tasks> Image Guardian Settings, do I need to activate Macrium Image Guardian on each disk under "Action", or are they protected by default? Thanks


ASRock Z77 Extreme6 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Gigabyte GeForce GTX GV-N1080G1 GAMING-8GD
Ram: G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240 pin DDR3/SDRAM DDR3 1866
Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge
3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000
1 X HD 1 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 2 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 5 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
2 X ASUS 24X DVD Burner
MS Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
PWR Supply: Ultra 3X 1000W SLI Ready
Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Case "Full Tower"
Monitor: Samsung S27D590CS, LED Lit, Curved Screen, 1920x1080
Logitech X-230 Speakers
Logitech Gaming Mouse MX-518
Logitech G810 ORION Gaming Keyboard
SteelSeries Gaming Headphones V-2
Logitech HD Pro WebCam C 910
jphughan
jphughan
Most Valuable Professional
Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (3.9K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 2.8K, Visits: 19K
It depends on your MIG settings and the volume(s) in question.  Here's how it works:

- If "Automatically protect local backup drives" is checked, then every time the MIG service starts (after being enabled system-wide or by restarting the PC), it checks the definition files "registered" in Reflect, and any local NTFS volumes specified as destinations in those def files get MIG protection automatically, even if you had disabled MIG on that volume previously.  Additionally, whenever a backup is sent to a local NTFS volume, MIG is automatically enabled for that volume.  If you don't want that to happen, you'd need to uncheck that option.

- You can also enable MIG on any local NTFS volume manually under the Actions menu.  This can be useful if for example you replicate backups onto a different drive manually.  In that case, the "replica drive" wouldn't be considered a "local backup drive" for automatic protection since definition files don't target it directly, but obviously it contains backups that you may want to protect with MIG. Robocopy is a great tool for managing this replication, by the way, which is why MIG has an option to allow Robocopy operations (with certain rules, detailed in the MIG KB article). 

​- When MIG is enabled on any volume, whether automatically or manually, a "marker" is placed on the volume to indicate that it should be protected by MIG.  That marker exists so that if you disable MIG system-wide and later re-enable it, MIG protection will resume for all of the desired volumes, including the ones where you enabled it manually.  Another benefit of having this marker on the volume rather than in a config file on your PC is that if you connect that disk to a different PC that has Reflect 7.1 with MIG installed, MIG on that other PC will automatically start protecting that volume.  If you manually disable MIG on a volume, the marker is removed -- but again, "local backup drives" will always get MIG re-enabled (and that marker recreated) according to the conditions in my first point above if the option I mentioned there is checked.

You can always see which volumes have MIG enabled within Reflect because you'll see the MIG ​​logo in the upper-right corner of the volume in question, as shown below:


Edited 28 October 2017 9:43 PM by jphughan
James Cole
James Cole
New Member
New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)New Member (46 reputation)
Group: Awaiting Activation
Posts: 29, Visits: 182
jphughan - 28 October 2017 8:34 PM
It depends on your MIG settings and the volume(s) in question.  Here's how it works:

- If "Automatically protect local backup drives" is checked, then every time the MIG service starts (after being enabled system-wide or by restarting the PC), it checks the definition files "registered" in Reflect, and any local NTFS volumes specified as destinations in those def files get MIG protection automatically, even if you had disabled MIG on that volume previously.  Additionally, whenever a backup is sent to a local NTFS volume, MIG is automatically enabled for that volume.  If you don't want that to happen, you'd need to uncheck that option.

- You can also enable MIG on any local NTFS volume manually under the Actions menu.  This can be useful if for example you replicate backups onto a different drive manually.  In that case, the "replica drive" wouldn't be considered a "local backup drive" for automatic protection since definition files don't target it directly, but obviously it contains backups that you may want to protect with MIG. Robocopy is a great tool for managing this replication, by the way, which is why MIG has an option to allow Robocopy operations (with certain rules, detailed in the MIG KB article). 

- When MIG is enabled on any volume, whether automatically or manually, a "marker" is placed on the volume to indicate that it should be protected by MIG.  That marker exists so that if you disable MIG system-wide and later re-enable it, MIG protection will resume for all of the desired volumes, including the ones where you enabled it manually.  Another benefit of having this marker on the volume rather than in a config file on your PC is that if you connect that disk to a different PC that has Reflect 7.1 with MIG installed, MIG on that other PC will automatically start protecting that volume.  If you manually disable MIG on a volume, the marker is removed -- but again, "local backup drives" will always get MIG re-enabled (and that marker recreated) according to the conditions in my first point above if the option I mentioned there is checked.

You can always see which volumes have MIG enabled within Reflect because you'll see the MIG logo in the upper-right corner of the volume in question, as shown below:


Thank You, now I understand. Smile

ASRock Z77 Extreme6 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Gigabyte GeForce GTX GV-N1080G1 GAMING-8GD
Ram: G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240 pin DDR3/SDRAM DDR3 1866
Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge
3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000
1 X HD 1 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 2 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 5 TB Western Digital Black 7200 RPM
1 X HD 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
2 X ASUS 24X DVD Burner
MS Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
PWR Supply: Ultra 3X 1000W SLI Ready
Antec Twelve Hundred V3 Case "Full Tower"
Monitor: Samsung S27D590CS, LED Lit, Curved Screen, 1920x1080
Logitech X-230 Speakers
Logitech Gaming Mouse MX-518
Logitech G810 ORION Gaming Keyboard
SteelSeries Gaming Headphones V-2
Logitech HD Pro WebCam C 910
GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Similar Topics

Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search