Windows 10 activation failure after restoring image to different instance of same hardware

Author
merwinsson
New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)New Member (15 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Let me establish some background before I elaborate on the subject of this post.
I am a volunteer administrator for a small private school that has a handful of computers.
The computer count (just over a couple dozen) breaks down as follows:
10 Dell OptiPlex 760
8 Dell Vostro 270s
7 Dell Inspiron 3646
Because of the low count and tight expenses, we do not own or utilize a domain server - all of these computers are running Windows in a workgroup.
Originally, all these computers were purchased with Windows 7 Pro, OEM, but now all run Windows 10 Pro 1703 (15063) RETAIL [64 bit], as I dutifully ran the upgrade process on all of them before Jul 29th of 2016 and have kept them updated ever since.
Because this is a school, and the kids mess with the computers no matter how well they get "locked down", a computer gets "hosed" from time to time and needs to have an OS rebuild.
Now, even though I've outfitted all these computers with an SSD as the main boot and OS drive, it still takes the better part of 90 minutes to re-install Windows fresh, and reprovision the machine with all the desired software and settings.
Additionally, I go through this cleaning and reprovisioning process every year right before school starts, just to make sure everyone has a clean slate. It takes a LOT of time.
This year, I decided to make a "golden image" for each of the 3 different machines so that all I have to do is restore an image to "refresh" a machine.
I started with the Dell Vostro 270s machines, and, for the most part, all went well.