Initial backup over more than one session

Author
Ravilious
New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)New Member (3 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi

I am completely new to Macrium and trying it out having spent the last two decades using Retrospect. Can I achieve on macrium what i could do with ease using retrospect. I need to back up a large 3TB hard drive containing media files. The issue is that for one reason or another I cannot do this with one large, long initial backup. I appreciate that macrium will monitor and only backup new files after the intial backup but its seems you cannot stop, switch off and resume that large initial backup at a later date.

Is this possible please as Retrospect always seemed to know what does and does not  need backing up.

Thanks a lot

Stephen
Richard V.
Richard V.
Most Valuable Professional
Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)
Reflect can create an initial full backup of the complete contents of a 3 TB drive in one step provided that the destination has sufficient free space available.  If necessary, the backup can be split to use available space on more than one destination drive.  Reflect will automatically request another destination as it detects available free space nearing exhaustion.