Macrium Support Forum

How can I encrypt an existing non-encrypted .mrimg image?

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic41643.aspx

By JDB - 28 November 2020 6:41 AM

Hello,
I am new to Macrium Reflect;  I apologize if this is an old question.   I searched the forum a bit and couldn't find the answer.
During my trial period, I created a couple of images, but failed to encrypt them.  
Is there a method to encrypt these files without having to restore and re-image them?   I don't have enough disk space to recreate them without blowing away another backup.
I am hoping that there is a function to encrypt them "in place" without needing a lot of additional free space to work in.
Thanks in advance for any pointers.
-John
By jphughan - 28 November 2020 3:57 PM

Unfortunately there is no way to adjust encryption or compression settings after the fact. You can’t add or remove encryption, or change the key length, or change the password.
By dbminter - 28 November 2020 4:35 PM

I suppose it may be possible to do a File And Folder backup of a Reflect image set and password protect that.  But, there are drawbacks.  First, you'd be adding extra steps to the restore process because you'd have to first restore down the FAF and then restore the image.  This would also mean you'd have to have double the space, the size of the image in the FAF backup set to restore down to.  Your Reflect image is, probably, one large file, i.e. not split up into parts.  Thus, you couldn't mount the FAF backup as a virtual drive and copy the image because of the FAT32 limitation currently on Reflect virtual drives.  I suppose it's possible to just read in the image from a virtual drive for a restore process with this FAT32 limitation, but if you were going to do this, I'd recommend testing this first by mounting the FAF backup, loading the Reflect image set from the virtual drive, and doing a manual Verify on the contents.  However, that's still no guarantee it will work for restoring, though.