Macrium Support Forum

Print Screen key does NOT work when Relfect main interface is opened.

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic40688.aspx

By dbminter - 17 October 2020 5:22 PM

With the Reflect main interface open, Print Screen key does NOT work for me anymore. When the Reflect main interface is closed, Print Screen key resumes working. I updated to Reflect 7.3.5289 and restarted the PC.  I tried this again and it's repeatable on my end.


Can anyone else repeat this behavior?


I have my Windows 10 PC set up to run the Windows Snipping Tool when Print Screen is pressed.


Thanks!
By phred - 17 October 2020 5:32 PM


dbminter - 17 October 2020 5:22 PM
With the Reflect main interface open, Print Screen key does NOT work for me anymore. When the Reflect main interface is closed, Print Screen key resumes working. I updated to Reflect 7.3.5289 and restarted the PC.  I tried this again and it's repeatable on my end.


Can anyone else repeat this behavior?


I have my Windows 10 PC set up to run the Windows Snipping Tool when Print Screen is pressed.


Thanks!

I can confirm there is an issue with the Print Screen key not doing what's expected when Reflect is open. I use ShareX for screen captures and it's bound to the Print Screen key. With Reflect open, Print Screen does nothing. With it closed it captures the screen.

EDIT: I failed to mention this occurs with v7.3.5289 Home.
By dbminter - 17 October 2020 6:06 PM

Thanks for confirming for me it's not just a problem on my end.  Smile
By Reflecting Mirror - 17 October 2020 6:20 PM

It appears the issue is related to hotkey of the Print Screen key to another application being impacted by Reflect. I do not have my Print Screen key as a hotkey to another application.

I open Reflect, Print Screen works to show the entire desktop screen including the forefront Reflect application.

Also using ALT-Shift-Print Screen only captures the forefront Reflect GUI.

Strange that Reflect would be impacting the hotkey function of Print Screen.

I still take umbrage with Reflect's automatic hotkey assignment CTRL-ALT-M.
By phred - 17 October 2020 7:08 PM


Reflecting Mirror - 17 October 2020 6:20 PM
It appears the issue is related to hotkey of the Print Screen key to another application being impacted by Reflect. I do not have my Print Screen key as a hotkey to another application.

I open Reflect, Print Screen works to show the entire desktop screen including the forefront Reflect application.

Also using ALT-Shift-Print Screen only captures the forefront Reflect GUI.

Strange that Reflect would be impacting the hotkey function of Print Screen.

I still take umbrage with Reflect's automatic hotkey assignment CTRl-ALT-M.

With Reflect open, ALT-SHFT-PrntScn opens up a window asking if I want to turn on high-contrast. Same thing with Reflect closed. I remapped the ShareX hotkey for 'select region' from PrntScn to CTRL-PrntScn and it works. So the issue is definitely related to the bare naked PrntScn hotkey. I can live with the work-around, and TBH, I don't often have the Reflect window open.
By dbminter - 17 October 2020 7:32 PM

I only encountered it because tech support asked for a screenshot for information from Reflect.  Tech support said there's a workaround.  Use the Windows Key + Shift + S to bring up the screen capture in Reflect instead of the Print Screen key.


I can't fathom, though, why Reflect's main interface would want to hijack the Print Screen key.
By Nick - 20 October 2020 10:40 AM

dbminter - 17 October 2020 7:32 PM
I only encountered it because tech support asked for a screenshot for information from Reflect.  Tech support said there's a workaround.  Use the Windows Key + Shift + S to bring up the screen capture in Reflect instead of the Print Screen key.


I can't fathom, though, why Reflect's main interface would want to hijack the Print Screen key.

Thanks for posting. We've managed to reproduce this issue if the PrtScn key is set to open Screen Snipping. We'll fix it in the next update, but in the meantime Windows + Shift + S should work well.
By phred - 20 October 2020 12:24 PM


Nick - 20 October 2020 10:40 AM
Thanks for posting. We've managed to reproduce this issue if the PrtScn key is set to open Screen Snipping. We'll fix it in the next update, but in the meantime Windows + Shift + S should work well.

Thanks for acknowledging this bug, Nick. I assume you mean that if the PrtScn key is set to open -any- app, the issue occurs. I use Sharex and sometimes GreenShot and it occurs with both when they're mapped to PrtScn.
By Chris - 26 October 2020 12:47 PM

Hi @dbminter@phred

To provide some further clarification on this issue.

After investigation we have discovered that this problem affects all elevated UI processes in the foreground. You can see the same behavior by taking the 'Run as Administrator' option and launching Windows Notepad. Unfortunately, as this is an OS problem, there is nothing that we can do.

We recommend using Windows+Shift+S, or Alt+PrtSc for capturing screen shots.

Kind regards.
By phred - 26 October 2020 1:02 PM


Chris - 26 October 2020 12:47 PM
Hi @dbminter@phred

To provide some further clarification on this issue.

After investigation we have discovered that this problem affects all elevated UI processes in the foreground. You can see the same behavior by taking the 'Run as Administrator' option and launching Windows Notepad. Unfortunately, as this is an OS problem, there is nothing that we can do.

We recommend using Windows+Shift+S, or Alt+PrtSc for capturing screen shots.

Kind regards.

Thanks for the follow up, Chris. It's unfortunate it's not a Reflect issue as that would have a better chance of getting fixed. Since it's an OS issue, I doubt MicroSoft will put  much time into this.
By dbminter - 26 October 2020 3:59 PM

@Chris

I don't understand what you said about Notepad.  I can run Notepad when Reflect is open.  I even tried Run As Administrator.  I had Reflect open and it was the main focused window.  I then opened Start Menu, right clicked on the Notepad shortcut, and chose Run As Administrator.  It still runs.
By Chris - 26 October 2020 4:18 PM

dbminter - 26 October 2020 3:59 PM
@Chris

I don't understand what you said about Notepad.  I can run Notepad when Reflect is open.  I even tried Run As Administrator.  I had Reflect open and it was the main focused window.  I then opened Start Menu, right clicked on the Notepad shortcut, and chose Run As Administrator.  It still runs.

Hi @dbminter

Thanks for posting, apologies for the confusion.

If you run Notepad, for example, as administrator then this will show that the Ease Of Access Windows 10 setting to run the Snipping and management tool will also fail. Other Windows applications will also show the issue when run elevated, e.g.: command prompt.

Basically, the Ease Of Access setting to capture screenshots is not an issue with Macrium Reflect, it is an OS issue.

I hope this clarifies.

Kind regards.
By dbminter - 26 October 2020 4:24 PM

OIC what you're saying about Notepad.  Print Screen doesn't work when it's open.  Not that Notepad won't work when Reflect is open.  Same for Command Prompt.  Print Screen doesn't work there, either.
By phred - 23 November 2020 9:04 PM

For anyone following this thread, I updated to 7.3.5289 near the end of October and just now remembered the Prnt-Scrn key issue. I'm happy to report that it appears to be fixed. I changed my default hotkey capture from Ctrl-Prnt-Scrn to Prnt-Scrn and it's working as expected.

By dbminter - 23 November 2020 9:49 PM

Well, it's not fixed on my system in 7.3.5321.  Smile  In fact, somewhere else in this thread, I think tech support said the issue couldn't be fixed because of how Microsoft had coded Windows.
By phred - 24 November 2020 3:13 AM


dbminter - 23 November 2020 9:49 PM
Well, it's not fixed on my system in 7.3.5321.  Smile  In fact, somewhere else in this thread, I think tech support said the issue couldn't be fixed because of how Microsoft had coded Windows.

Hmmm ... interesting. I guess I'll just stay on 5389 for a while as it's now working as it did before the flurry of updates that took place in mid-October. I'm not going to pretend to understand why yours doesn't work and mine does, but I'm happy. FWIW - Windows 10.