Macrium Support Forum

recovery environment 0xc000000f code

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic34231.aspx

By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 3:00 PM

Hello — I just update reflect to the 4711 build and also created a new rescue (boot) media. In addition to creating new rescue media. I also update the media to use PE 10 from PE 3.1

I don’t usually test the recovery environment, but this time I did. And to my surprised it crashed with a 0xc000000f code — first thought it was PE 10, so I got back into win10 and rebuilt recovery back to PE 3.1 – and the same crashed happened again with the same status code.

The information on the screen seem to point to a hardware change. Back in Oct I replace the hard drive with a SSD drive, use the clone option of reflect without issues. Since then its been running with the SSD — I can’t recall, but this could have been the first time I booted into the recovery environment with the ssd installed —

Is there a way to figure out if a driver is missing? Thanks
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 3:57 PM

In addition to the boot  recovery environment  I also created a iso image and that worked  when booting from the  CD -- 
By dbminter - 12 February 2020 4:03 PM

So, I'm guessing your flash drive boots with this error code but as you said your CD works?  If that's the case, try this to see if it works.  Delete all files and folders Reflect put on the flash drive.  Meaning, there's no need to delete anything else from the flash drive you may have added.  Then try recreating the rescue media on the flash drive and boot it to test.


Sometimes, I've encountered odd behavior with the flash media that can be fixed this way.
By Gosha - 12 February 2020 4:04 PM

Hello Frank,

Thanks for posting on our forum.

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with Reflect.

Would you kindly confirm the following:

What OS youre running?
What processor is the PC using?
x32/x64?
What type of Rescue Media are you creating - USB/Boot Menu?

We would also like to see a picture of the full error you see when booting. Would you kindly take a photo of the error you see on screen and attach it to your reply to us here.

Thanks a bunch!
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 4:08 PM

dbminter - 12 February 2020 4:03 PM
So, I'm guessing your flash drive boots with this error code but as you said your CD works?  If that's the case, try this to see if it works.  Delete all files and folders Reflect put on the flash drive.  Meaning, there's no need to delete anything else from the flash drive you may have added.  Then try recreating the rescue media on the flash drive and boot it to test.


Sometimes, I've encountered odd behavior with the flash media that can be fixed this way.

Hi --- thx  for the reply --- no, it not a flash drive -- I created the recovery as a  boot option -- so when I restart the computer, I  select  reflect ( not win 10 )  that is the item that is  crashing -- but as noted  the  cd/iso  works fine 
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 4:17 PM

Gosha - 12 February 2020 4:04 PM
Hello Frank,

Thanks for posting on our forum.

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with Reflect.

Would you kindly confirm the following:

What OS youre running?
What processor is the PC using?
x32/x64?
What type of Rescue Media are you creating - USB/Boot Menu?

We would also like to see a picture of the full error you see when booting. Would you kindly take a photo of the error you see on screen and attach it to your reply to us here.

Thanks a bunch!

Hello ---  thanks for the  reply
The os is win 10 / 1909 64 bit  home
The processor is AMD Turion(tm) II Dual-Core Mobile M520
The recovery environment is the  reflect  boot  option on  start up 
The hard drive in the laptop is (now) a ssd  1TB
If I boot from the rescue / cd   it works OK   
I will post the screen  shortly 
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 4:44 PM

Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 4:17 PM
Gosha - 12 February 2020 4:04 PM
Hello Frank,

Thanks for posting on our forum.

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with Reflect.

Would you kindly confirm the following:

What OS youre running?
What processor is the PC using?
x32/x64?
What type of Rescue Media are you creating - USB/Boot Menu?

We would also like to see a picture of the full error you see when booting. Would you kindly take a photo of the error you see on screen and attach it to your reply to us here.

Thanks a bunch!

Hello ---  thanks for the  reply
The os is win 10 / 1909 64 bit  home
The processor is AMD Turion(tm) II Dual-Core Mobile M520
The recovery environment is the  reflect  boot  option on  start up 
The hard drive in the laptop is (now) a ssd  1TB
If I boot from the rescue / cd   it works OK   
I will post the screen  shortly 

By JasonUK - 12 February 2020 4:49 PM

Same problem here:  Boot menu rescue environment doesn't load with v7.2.4711 on WIndows 10 1909 for me.

I've tried both RE & PE builds as a boot menu option but when you reboot although you get the option for the Reflect environment selecting it just returns following error:

"Windows Boot Manager

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause...
...
Status: OXC0000000f
Information: A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed."

Booting from a CD or USB flash drive both work fine.
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 4:50 PM

JasonUK - 12 February 2020 4:49 PM
Same problem here:  Boot menu rescue environment doesn't load with v7.2.4711 on WIndows 10 1903 for me.

I've tried both RE & PE builds as a boot menu option but when you reboot although you get the option for the Reflect environment selecting it just returns following error:

"Windows Boot Manager

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause...
...
Status: OXC0000000f
Information: A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed."

Booting from a CD or USB flash drive both work fine.

Hello --- Thanks for the reply --- I  thought it was my hard drive (ssd) --
By JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM

My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 5:26 PM

JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

this seems to be the case ----  I supplied support with the info they request -- hopefully it will get fix shortly  --- BTW it seems that there is 
not to much different  between win 10 1903 and 1909 ---  thanks
By DanDanz - 12 February 2020 5:42 PM

JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

Just for the record, I DO NOT SEE THE ERROR that you two are reporting
OS Name    Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version    10.0.18363 Build 18363
Other OS Description     Not Available
OS Manufacturer    Microsoft Corporation
System Name    APACHE
System Manufacturer    HP
System Model    HP Spectre x360 Convertible 15-ch0xx
System Type    x64-based PC
System SKU    2LV24UAR#ABA
Processor    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8550U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 1992 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date    AMI F.31, 2019-05-20
SMBIOS Version    3.0
Embedded Controller Version    57.33
BIOS Mode    UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer    HP
BaseBoard Product    83BA
BaseBoard Version    57.33
Platform Role    Mobile
Secure Boot State    On
PCR7 Configuration    Elevation Required to View
Windows Directory    C:\WINDOWS
System Directory    C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device    \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale    United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer    Version = "10.0.18362.628"
User Name    APACHE\lwdan
Time Zone    Central Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)    16.0 GB
Reflect updated from .4601 to .4711.  Rebuilt the Boot Menu WinRE 1909 version (and nothing else at the same time).  Disk drive not SSD and is NOT NVME.  Rebooted without a problem.  
By JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:54 PM

Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 5:26 PM
JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

this seems to be the case ----  I supplied support with the info they request -- hopefully it will get fix shortly  --- BTW it seems that there is 
not to much different  between win 10 1903 and 1909 ---  thanks

Sorry I should have stated I'm also on Windows 10 Build 1909 not 1903!

L. W. "Dan" Danz - 12 February 2020 5:42 PM

Just for the record, I DO NOT SEE THE ERROR that you two are reporting. /.. / Reflect updated from .4601 to .4711.  Rebuilt the Boot Menu WinRE 1909 version (and nothing else at the same time).  Disk drive not SSD and is NOT NVME.  Rebooted without a problem.   

But did Macrium Reflect boot menu actually load the recovery environment?  I've had no issue reloading WIndows 10 from Boot Menu just Reflect.
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 5:58 PM

L. W. "Dan" Danz - 12 February 2020 5:42 PM
JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

Just for the record, I DO NOT SEE THE ERROR that you two are reporting
OS Name    Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version    10.0.18363 Build 18363
Other OS Description     Not Available
OS Manufacturer    Microsoft Corporation
System Name    APACHE
System Manufacturer    HP
System Model    HP Spectre x360 Convertible 15-ch0xx
System Type    x64-based PC
System SKU    2LV24UAR#ABA
Processor    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8550U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 1992 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date    AMI F.31, 2019-05-20
SMBIOS Version    3.0
Embedded Controller Version    57.33
BIOS Mode    UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer    HP
BaseBoard Product    83BA
BaseBoard Version    57.33
Platform Role    Mobile
Secure Boot State    On
PCR7 Configuration    Elevation Required to View
Windows Directory    C:\WINDOWS
System Directory    C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device    \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale    United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer    Version = "10.0.18362.628"
User Name    APACHE\lwdan
Time Zone    Central Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)    16.0 GB
Reflect updated from .4601 to .4711.  Rebuilt the Boot Menu WinRE 1909 version (and nothing else at the same time).  Disk drive not SSD and is NOT NVME.  Rebooted without a problem.  

Hello ---  It seems that in the 2 users with the issue, we are both running win 10 / 1909 -- is you os the same?  ---  this is what I am running 

By JasonUK - 12 February 2020 6:02 PM

10.0.18363 = Win 10 / 1909
By DanDanz - 12 February 2020 6:04 PM

JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:54 PM
Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 5:26 PM
JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

this seems to be the case ----  I supplied support with the info they request -- hopefully it will get fix shortly  --- BTW it seems that there is 
not to much different  between win 10 1903 and 1909 ---  thanks

Sorry I should have stated I'm also on Windows 10 Build 1909 not 1903!

L. W. "Dan" Danz - 12 February 2020 5:42 PM

Just for the record, I DO NOT SEE THE ERROR that you two are reporting. /.. / Reflect updated from .4601 to .4711.  Rebuilt the Boot Menu WinRE 1909 version (and nothing else at the same time).  Disk drive not SSD and is NOT NVME.  Rebooted without a problem.   

But did Macrium Reflect boot menu actually load the recovery environment?  I've had no issue reloading WIndows 10 from Boot Menu just Reflect.

Yes -- reflect loaded, wifi drivers too ... and I connected to my server that has backup images.
By JasonUK - 12 February 2020 6:07 PM

L. W. "Dan" Danz - 12 February 2020 6:04 PM

Yes -- reflect loaded, wifi drivers too ... and I connected to my server that has backup images.

Thanks for clarifying... 

I've rolled back to 7.2.4601 and all works as it should.  I'll pass on 4711.
By DanDanz - 12 February 2020 6:09 PM

Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 5:58 PM
L. W. "Dan" Danz - 12 February 2020 5:42 PM
JasonUK - 12 February 2020 5:14 PM
My PC doesn't use a SSD nor have I ever had this issue with previous Reflect builds so I'm pointing the finger at v7.2.4711 Smile

Just for the record, I DO NOT SEE THE ERROR that you two are reporting
OS Name    Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version    10.0.18363 Build 18363
Other OS Description     Not Available
OS Manufacturer    Microsoft Corporation
System Name    APACHE
System Manufacturer    HP
System Model    HP Spectre x360 Convertible 15-ch0xx
System Type    x64-based PC
System SKU    2LV24UAR#ABA
Processor    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8550U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 1992 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date    AMI F.31, 2019-05-20
SMBIOS Version    3.0
Embedded Controller Version    57.33
BIOS Mode    UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer    HP
BaseBoard Product    83BA
BaseBoard Version    57.33
Platform Role    Mobile
Secure Boot State    On
PCR7 Configuration    Elevation Required to View
Windows Directory    C:\WINDOWS
System Directory    C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device    \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale    United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer    Version = "10.0.18362.628"
User Name    APACHE\lwdan
Time Zone    Central Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)    16.0 GB
Reflect updated from .4601 to .4711.  Rebuilt the Boot Menu WinRE 1909 version (and nothing else at the same time).  Disk drive not SSD and is NOT NVME.  Rebooted without a problem.  

Hello ---  It seems that in the 2 users with the issue, we are both running win 10 / 1909 -- is you os the same?  ---  this is what I am running 


I'm on a slightly later build of 1909 (18363) than yours

By dbminter - 12 February 2020 6:19 PM

For what it's worth, I updated to the latest Reflect version and the boot menu option works fine for me.  I have an SSD and am running Windows 10 1909 (18363.657).  Just updated yesterday to the latest Patch Tuesday patch version.
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 6:31 PM

dbminter - 12 February 2020 6:19 PM
For what it's worth, I updated to the latest Reflect version and the boot menu option works fine for me.  I have an SSD and am running Windows 10 1909 (18363.657).  Just updated yesterday to the latest Patch Tuesday patch version.

Umm ... it seems like the "657" build worked --- I do a win update to confirm
By Nick - 12 February 2020 6:43 PM

Thanks for posting.

For those that  have been seeing an error when starting the rescue environment from the boot menu, can you try disabling Windows 'Fast Start' to see if that resolves the problem?. The Windows boot menu can be rendered inoperable if updated during a Windows 'Fast Start' boot sequence. 

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-disable-windows-10-fast-startup?amp
By dbminter - 12 February 2020 6:48 PM

Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 6:31 PM
dbminter - 12 February 2020 6:19 PM
For what it's worth, I updated to the latest Reflect version and the boot menu option works fine for me.  I have an SSD and am running Windows 10 1909 (18363.657).  Just updated yesterday to the latest Patch Tuesday patch version.

Umm ... it seems like the "657" build worked --- I do a win update to confirm


So, you hadn't yet applied yesterday's Patch Tuesday's update?


It is somewhat worrying that it could be the cause.  That people without the latest Windows 10 patch might not be able to get the boot menu recovery to start.
By DanDanz - 12 February 2020 8:54 PM

Unfortunately I have to revise my findings (that it worked for me).  On a second computer system, I installed KB4532693 Cumulative Update for Win10 1909 among others (it's the most likely culprit, then installed 4711.  This worked okay .. i.e. the MR boot menu worked okay.  So I experimented a bit.  I have been building with the Copy USB drivers switch turned on.  So I turned it off, forced a rebuild of the boot menu, and rebooted to Windows.  But when I then rebooted to MR's boot menu, I got the error that others have seen.   

So, I booted back into windows, turn on the Copy USB drivers switch, forced a rebuilt of the boot menu, and rebooted to Windows.  When I rebooted to MR's boot menu, THE ERROR CONTINUED TO SHOW UP. 

I booted from an earlier recovery flash drive,  reloaded the C: (system) drive from a backup (which removed all of today's window updates including KB4532693), but I deliberately did not reload the D: (data) drive. NOTE The \boot\Macrium files are on the D: drive.  When I rebooted after the reload, windows loaded okay, and so did WinRE 1903 with the 4711 files in it (I had not re-updated MR on windows, it was still 4601).  Strange. 

I just saw
@nick post about Fast Startup -- I have it enabled on both of these computers, and will report results.



@Nick I turned off fast startup for the following.
Restart.   Windows update ran and reinstalled all the updates, including KB4532693).  Restart to finish installing updates.
Force rebuild of the recovery 1903 wim (yes, 1903 even tho I'm on 1909 - that's nothing new).
Windows reboots okay,  Recovery does NOT work (same error), acts like possibly it can't find the D: drive with the /boot/Macrium area.
Uninstalled KB4532693.  So I'm back to 18363.592.
I'm rebooting into windows and will try to rebuild the boot menu.
If that doesn't fix it, I will move the /boot/macrium files to the C: drive and rebuild.


By DanDanz - 12 February 2020 10:37 PM

Okay, I found another bug ...
Create Rescue Media ... Advanced....Rescue Media Volume...
Each time you change from C: to D: or vice versa   the files are copied from old location to the new location, except it does it by e.g. copying C:boot\macrium to D:\boot\macrium -- so it extends the directory to D:\boot\macrium\macrium  and next time from D: back to C:becomes C:\bootmacrium\macrium\macrium.  This is not the original problem of this post, so I will open another, with logs.   But right now, I can't test changing the rescue media volume. 

Sigh. 
By fpefpe - 12 February 2020 11:22 PM

Hello -- I just finished all the update for day which includes KB4532693 --- in  addition I also TURN OFF  "fast startup" . 

The reflect boot recovery still  fails with the same status code as before
By DanDanz - 13 February 2020 12:43 AM


Recap and updated status:

As I first posted, my first system, which had today's Win10 updates applied, and then MR updated from 4601 to 4711, and then 4711 added to the WinRE recovery code, worked without errors.

On the second system, I encountered the OP's original problem when I tried to turn off Copy USB drivers, forcing a complete rebuild of the WinRE wim.   I never could do a successful rebuild of the WinRE wim with setting or resetting the Copy USB drivers switch.    Matters got worse when I tried to switch the location of Macrium media from D: to C:

I gave up and I restored both c: and d: drives so that my second system status is:
Rescue Media Volume is where it was originally, on D: (to save space on C: which is an SSD). I will not try to move it back to C: because of the problem with cascading Macrium subdirs in \boot.
The original restore of C: re-established MR 4601, and build 18363.592.  Today's updates, including KB4532693, have been applied.
OS Build Info shows: version 1909 -  18363.657
After the update of the OS, MR was updated to 7.2.4711.  I was careful with Create Rescue Media operations so that the WIM was NOT rebuilt from scratch at any time.  After MR 7.2.4601 was updated to 7.2.4711, the version of MR in the boot menu area was updated, but this did NOT rebuild the entire boot menu.
And the recovery option from the windows boot manager menu successfully loads MR 7.2.4711.

I'm going to hold on MR updates at this point, or if I do apply an update and have to rebuild the boot menu, I will very carefully do it and take snapshot backups before/after.
I believe there is a problem in the rescue builder code that led to the original problem, and I cannot say whether the problem involves KB4532693 or not.  There is also a bug in the Rescue Builder that causes the cascading \boot\macrium sub-directory problem if the media volume is changed.  So my advice to anyone else is DO NOT CHANGE THE MEDIA VOLUME SELECTION until this is resolved.  Unfortunately I did not save the any of the rescue builder log files before restoring from backup (my bad). But developers should be able to reproduce that issue.  My running/working BCD has this for the Recovery section:
Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier     {3913c9eb-f338-11e8-bf8e-000272a7bd8d}
device      ramdisk=[D:]\boot\macrium\WinREFiles\media\sources\boot.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
path       \windows\system32\boot\winload.efi
description     Macrium Reflect System Recovery
osdevice      ramdisk=[D:]\boot\macrium\WinREFiles\media\sources\boot.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
systemroot     \Windows
nx        OptIn
detecthal     Yes
winpe       Yes

When it was bad because of the cascading directory problem (after a few retries going back and forth),  it ended up with many \macrium repetitions and a double \\ in front of WinREFiles. so it looked like this for both the device and osdevice entries:
ramdisk=[D:]\boot\macrium\macrium\macrium\macrium\macrium\macrium\\WinREFiles\media\sources\boot.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
I strongly suspect this ramdisk is the "device" that the loader cannot find when trying to load the files for the recovery boot.

@Nick: I cannot, with certainty, say whether turning off Fast Startup helped or not. It's currently "off" for the second system (a server which seldom boots), and has never been "off"  for the first system (laptop, which boots a lot).  Could you give a bit more information about how it mucks things up when "on"?

I wonder if @dbminter or @fpefpe rebuilt the whole WinRE boot menu when doing the updates to MR

By fpefpe - 13 February 2020 1:25 AM

Hello --  I never got into "the weeds" on  rebuilding the   recovery boot -- I just  take the defaults -- 

I first discovered the issue when I did a rebuild from PE 3.1 to PE 10 -- 
By dbminter - 13 February 2020 2:06 AM

Well, I don't know if it rebuilds whatever it was Smile I just selected to update the boot menu recovery environment to match the new version of Reflect.  Every time I update Reflect to a new version, I update the boot menu recovery environment.
By JasonUK - 13 February 2020 5:18 AM

Frank Esposito - 12 February 2020 11:22 PM
Hello -- I just finished all the update for day which includes KB4532693 --- in  addition I also TURN OFF  "fast startup" . 

The reflect boot recovery still  fails with the same status code as before

Same here.  Fast start was enabled and as I've never set same it must have been by default.  Applied all Windows updates so I've now got WIndows 10 / 1909 / OS Build 18363.657.  Ran a full image backup, switched off fast start and rebooted before I tried updating Reflect again...

Updated Reflect, updated boot menu, net result identical failure to OP - fails to load Reflect environment when selected from boot menu.  Loading Reflect environment from external media (CD or USB flash drive) worked without issue.

Recovered system from the image created back to Reflect 7.2.4601 and all works fine again.
By fpefpe - 13 February 2020 11:49 PM

Nick - 12 February 2020 6:43 PM
Thanks for posting.

For those that  have been seeing an error when starting the rescue environment from the boot menu, can you try disabling Windows 'Fast Start' to see if that resolves the problem?. The Windows boot menu can be rendered inoperable if updated during a Windows 'Fast Start' boot sequence. 

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-disable-windows-10-fast-startup?amp

Hello --- Anything new to report on this issue?  --- turning off "fast start" did not correct the issue  -- 
By fpefpe - 14 February 2020 4:29 PM

fyi  -- It has been reported that KB4532693 and KB4524244 could cause issues with boot managers --- 

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-latest-windows-10-updates-are-causing-more-serious-issues
By Nick - 14 February 2020 4:40 PM

Frank Esposito - 14 February 2020 4:29 PM
fyi  -- It has been reported that KB4532693 and KB4524244 could cause issues with boot managers --- 

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-latest-windows-10-updates-are-causing-more-serious-issues

Thanks everyone for posting on this problem.

We've discovered that RMBuilder.exe v7.2.4711 can create a BCD entry with an invalid path syntax which causes the 0xc000000f error. This occurs if the PE version is changed and the boot menu is re-built, or if built from scratch. This explains why the problem hasn't been seen by all. 

We'll have an update available as soon as we've confirmed the fix. Apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.
By DanDanz - 14 February 2020 4:48 PM

Nick - 14 February 2020 4:40 PM
Frank Esposito - 14 February 2020 4:29 PM
fyi  -- It has been reported that KB4532693 and KB4524244 could cause issues with boot managers --- 

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-latest-windows-10-updates-are-causing-more-serious-issues

Thanks everyone for posting on this problem.

We've discovered that RMBuilder.exe v7.2.4711 can create a BCD entry with an invalid path syntax which causes the 0xc000000f error. This occurs if the PE version is changed and the boot menu is re-built, or if built from scratch. This explains why the problem hasn't been seen by all. 

We'll have an update available as soon as we've confirmed the fix. Apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

Good news.   Thanks for jumping in, @Nick .... will the fix also address the problem of cascaded /macrium subdirectories in c:/boot if a user changes the volume used for the recovery data?   Also, are you still suspecting involvement of Fast Startup?
By Nick - 14 February 2020 5:03 PM

L. W. "Dan" Danz - 14 February 2020 4:48 PM
Nick - 14 February 2020 4:40 PM
Frank Esposito - 14 February 2020 4:29 PM
fyi  -- It has been reported that KB4532693 and KB4524244 could cause issues with boot managers --- 

https://www.techradar.com/news/the-latest-windows-10-updates-are-causing-more-serious-issues

Thanks everyone for posting on this problem.

We've discovered that RMBuilder.exe v7.2.4711 can create a BCD entry with an invalid path syntax which causes the 0xc000000f error. This occurs if the PE version is changed and the boot menu is re-built, or if built from scratch. This explains why the problem hasn't been seen by all. 

We'll have an update available as soon as we've confirmed the fix. Apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

Good news.   Thanks for jumping in, @Nick .... will the fix also address the problem of cascaded /macrium subdirectories in c:/boot if a user changes the volume used for the recovery data?   Also, are you still suspecting involvement of Fast Startup?

Hi Dan

The creation of the cascading sub directories has been fixed. If detected, the existing folders will be deleted and correct folder structure will be re-created under '\boot'.

Fast Startup is a red herring in this instance but it has been known not to play well with BCD entries in the past. 

Again, apologies for the for the inconvenience this has caused.