Macrium Support Forum

Recover deleted img files

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic20506.aspx

By PaulRussell - 1 January 2018 7:45 PM

I do a full backup in January of every year than I use do an incremental every month. I backup to an external H/D. So today I ran a full backup but I forgot to change the destination folder to a new folder on my external H/D. As a result when the full backup was done, it deleted all the old backups in the folder. So I just lost all my backups for 2017. I there any way to recover those files?
Paul
By jphughan - 1 January 2018 8:18 PM

If shadow copies were being made of that external drive, a tool like ShadowExplorer would allow you to view them and potentially recover files out of a snapshot taken before that deletion occurred.  Short of that, you'd be looking at file recovery utilities like Recuva, but there's no guarantee that the recovered files will be intact, especially if your retention policy is set to run before the new backup rather than after.  There's nothing built into Reflect or Windows itself that would help with this, though.  Going forward, you might want to consider changing your retention policy to retain at least 2 Full backups.  You can always manually delete a Full if you don't want to keep that many, but that retention policy setup would prevent Reflect from ever doing this automatically, so you wouldn't have to worry about specifying a different destination folder.

On a side note, unless you're replicating your backups to another location, only capturing a Full backup once per year is a very high-risk strategy.  If something happens to that Full, then you lose an entire year's worth of backups, which could potentially mean all of your backups if you only ever have one Full at a time.  I would consider capturing more frequent Fulls if at all possible, even if it means buying more storage capacity.  If that's simply not an option, I would at least the very least perform frequent manual verifications of your Full backup to make sure that you can restore from it if ever required.  Even if you verify your backups when they're created, that doesn't rule out a file system or hardware-level issue creating a problem accessing that file later.  If you ever saw a failed verification, you would at least have a chance to create a new Full right away, so your only risk would be something going wrong with that file and having a major data incident between verifications, in which case you'd still be stuck.
By Danskeman - 31 July 2020 8:24 AM

PaulRussell - 1 January 2018 7:45 PM
I do a full backup in January of every year than I use do an incremental every month. I backup to an external H/D. So today I ran a full backup but I forgot to change the destination folder to a new folder on my external H/D. As a result when the full backup was done, it deleted all the old backups in the folder. So I just lost all my backups for 2017. I there any way to recover those files?
Paul

Why on earth would you ever go back to 3 year old backups, especially on Windows 10?

The only reason I can think of is to back up data in perpetuity,​​

​​ If this is the case, to me this suggests a sub optimal backup strategy.  I keep data separate from OS and programs and back that up separately.​​​
By jphughan - 31 July 2020 1:27 PM

Danskeman - 31 July 2020 8:24 AM
Why on earth would you ever go back to 3 year old backups, especially on Windows 10?

Well, why on earth would someone go back to a nearly 3 year old thread to post a reply?  Particularly one that isn't all that helpful.  Backing up personal data separately won't change the outcome that was described.  Whatever configuration triggered the old backups to be purged could have happened regardless of whether or not they were backing up their OS and personal data separately.

But if the OP is still reading this, to avoid this outcome going forward, I would suggest that you disable all of your retention policy settings AND the option to automatically purge older backup sets when disk space drops to a certain level.  In that case, Reflect will never automatically purge any old backups, even if that causes the new backup to fail.  If you do NOT use a definition file to perform your backups, you should go to Edit Defaults and change the default retention policy settings so they're consistent with what I just described, in which case those settings will be used for backups performed without using a definition file.