Macrium Support Forum

MFT corrupt - Error code = 6. Please run 'chkdsk C: /r'

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic14308.aspx

By TechnicGeek - 25 May 2017 9:22 AM

Hello,

I tried to clone Intel 535 240GB SSD to Samsung 850 EVO using intelligent clone and I received the error message mentioned in subject. Once I have changed option to sector-by-sector clone, the process went smoothly and I was able to successfully boot and work from Samsung SSD.

Later I went to set incremental, differential and full image backup plan. Incremental image backup started as per schedule and I again b received that error message. Error message suggests to run CHKDSK but let me tell you that in both cloning and incremental backup situations I described here the CHKDSK did not find anything.

http://forum.macrium.com/uploads/images/2891a1fd-0aeb-4283-8c8b-55c4.jpg


Not sure how to proceed.
By jphughan - 25 May 2017 2:15 PM

Just to confirm, did you actually run "CHKDSK /R" rather than regular CHKDSK or even CHKDSK /F?  If you did a sector-by-sector clone to avoid dealing with corruption that Reflect was telling you about on the original disk, I'm not surprised it carried over to the second, seeing as an MFT issue is a file system level error, not a hardware sector-level error.  And NTFS also maintains a backup MFT, so something must be pretty messed up....
By Seekforever - 25 May 2017 2:37 PM

This is somewhat simplified: Imaging typically runs at a lower lever outside of using the regular filesystem since it is just grabbing clusters. However, to do an intelligent sector copy where it does need to use the filesystem to determine what needs to be imaged before it starts so it uses the MFT. So if you do a sector-by-sector clone  it ignores the filesystem and just copies everything on the partition and pays no attention to the filesystem if I understand your use of sector-by-sector.

The fact that chdksk worked assuming you did use the /r switch indicates the disk's sectors are all readable but since the MFT error persists it indicates the data structure itself is bad. I would have thought chkdsk even with the /f switch would have fixed that but it didn't.

I have never tried this program but a quick Google revealed it:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
There may be others.
For disk issues that chkdsk won't correct I usually recommend the manufacturer's diagnostic program since they tend to be more specific and will often find things chkdsk won't. You could try that but I have the feeling that the disk itself will test OK but it is the file structure that is damaged. Worth a try thought.
By TechnicGeek - 25 May 2017 3:57 PM

jphughan - 25 May 2017 2:15 PM
Just to confirm, did you actually run "CHKDSK /R" rather than regular CHKDSK or even CHKDSK /F?

Yes. It required system restart.

Seekforever - 25 May 2017 2:37 PM
I have never tried this program but a quick Google revealed it:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
There may be others.

Does this software scan first, show summary and ask for course of action? It doesn't make changes without my involvement?

By Seekforever - 25 May 2017 6:37 PM

TechnicGeek - 25 May 2017 3:57 PM
No
jphughan - 25 May 2017 2:15 PM
Just to confirm, did you actually run "CHKDSK /R" rather than regular CHKDSK or even CHKDSK /F?

Yes. It required system restart.

Seekforever - 25 May 2017 2:37 PM
I have never tried this program but a quick Google revealed it:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
There may be others.

Does this software scan first, show summary and ask for course of action? It doesn't make changes without my involvement?


No idea, like I said, I've never tried it - just saying where you might go if chkdsk can't resolve the problem.
By Nick - 25 May 2017 7:13 PM

@TechnicGeek

Thanks for posting. Error code 6 means that a file system cluster used by a file is marked as available in the volume bitmap. We've never seen this not corrected by running chkdsk, so this is very strange.  If you can't correct this and are confident that your file system has no error then you can turn off file system checking.  

Take 'Other Tasks' > 'Edit Defaults': 

http://knowledgebase.macrium.com/download/attachments/7734588/image2017-2-26%2019%3a33%3a34.png?version=1&modificationdate=1488138000000&api=v2&effects=drop-shadow
Kind regards
By TechnicGeek - 26 May 2017 1:19 PM

Just ran CHKDSK in read-only and it found corrupted segments:
http://forum.macrium.com/uploads/images/ea9d12b0-d642-45e3-96d1-e72c.jpg

I don't remember this to be the case when I ran it preboot. Will do full backup and try
running it in a preboot mode again.
By TechnicGeek - 28 May 2017 7:00 PM

Nick - 25 May 2017 7:13 PM
@TechnicGeek

Thanks for posting. Error code 6 means that a file system cluster used by a file is marked as available in the volume bitmap. We've never seen this not corrected by running chkdsk, so this is very strange.  If you can't correct this and are confident that your file system has no error then you can turn off file system checking.  

Take 'Other Tasks' > 'Edit Defaults': 

http://knowledgebase.macrium.com/download/attachments/7734588/image2017-2-26%2019%3a33%3a34.png?version=1&modificationdate=1488138000000&api=v2&effects=drop-shadow
Kind regards

This doesn't work. It does not disable that check.
By jphughan - 28 May 2017 7:14 PM

Did re-running CHKDSK /R outside of your Windows installation fix the issue you showed in your post from a couple days ago?  And you may also want to run it against the other non-OS partitions on the disk, fyi.  You'll need to use the diskpart "assign" command to give them drive letters first, but you can do that from Reflect Rescue Media.
By Nick - 28 May 2017 8:12 PM

This doesn't work. It does not disable that check


It does. Please make sure that you have chosen 'Verify File System' in the dialog and not 'Auto Verify Image'. It's easy to get confused between the two options that state 'Verify'

http://forum.macrium.com/uploads/images/2a574a60-e467-4ab5-bca8-69c7.png
By TechnicGeek - 29 May 2017 7:42 AM

jphughan - 28 May 2017 7:14 PM
Did re-running CHKDSK /R outside of your Windows installation fix the issue you showed in your post from a couple days ago?  And you may also want to run it against the other non-OS partitions on the disk, fyi.  You'll need to use the diskpart "assign" command to give them drive letters first, but you can do that from Reflect Rescue Media.

Thanks. Yes it did. It took around 10 minutes to complete. I haven't tried intelligent cloning with Rapid Delta yet but I will soon. Before I ran CHKDSK I made sure to clone sector-by-sector again just in case it will make it worse and I have a working and bootable SSD to fallback on to prevent downtime. After process completed both SSDs I believe were very hot inside as I touched spots at the bottom of laptop's casing.
By mbalog24126 - 10 October 2017 11:17 PM

I encountered this error on an ancient XP machine, which I should discard but keep around for sentimental reasons. I ran chkdsk /r from the recovery console on an XP SP3 install disk and trashed the installation totally. Reinstalled my most recent known good Macrium image, did 6 months of updates and then encountered the same error again when I tried to image the installation from a Macrium rescue disk. This time, I realized that there is a command prompt inside Windows PE on the rescue disk. Ran the chkdsk c: /r command from there and got (1) a totally different "look" for the chkdsk process than I observed when I ran it from the XP install disk, and (2) once chkdsk completed, SUCCESS in running the image I wanted to run in the first place!! Evidently, all chkdsk processes are not the same.  
By jphughan - 10 October 2017 11:36 PM

mbalog24126 - 10 October 2017 11:17 PM
I encountered this error on an ancient XP machine, which I should discard but keep around for sentimental reasons. I ran chkdsk /r from the recovery console on an XP SP3 install disk and trashed the installation totally. Reinstalled my most recent known good Macrium image, did 6 months of updates and then encountered the same error again when I tried to image the installation from a Macrium rescue disk. This time, I realized that there is a command prompt inside Windows PE on the rescue disk. Ran the chkdsk c: /r command from there and got (1) a totally different "look" for the chkdsk process than I observed when I ran it from the XP install disk, and (2) once chkdsk completed, SUCCESS in running the image I wanted to run in the first place!! Evidently, all chkdsk processes are not the same.  

CHKDSK gets updated with new Windows releases, and the oldest version of WinPE that Reflect supports is 3.1, which is based on Win7 -- so depending on the version of WinPE you actually built your Rescue Media with, the CHKDSK you ran from Rescue was anywhere from 7 to 14 years newer than the one included with XP. Smile