Macrium Support Forum

Cloned Disk is smaller in size

https://forum.macrium.com/Topic1350.aspx

By BuleriaChk - 13 May 2015 9:37 PM

I cloned my mid-tower 500 gb SSD to a WD Hdd 500 gb as a backup, and the data partition is smaller than the original.  Using Win7, x64 Happens on both my licensed version and the free version.: (The first disk to the fourth.)  Doesn't give me a warm, fuzzy feeling about the clone....
http://forum.macrium.com/uploads/images/4cb49701-d44c-4b38-89a7-f848.jpg 


By Nick - 13 May 2015 9:45 PM

@BuleriaChk

Thanks for posting.

I'm afraid it's impossible to see the numbers from your image due to the resolution. When you say "the data partition is smaller than the original" are you referring to the partition size or the used space? What are the numbers?
If the cloned partition size is smaller then the target disk is smaller, if the used space is smaller then this is due to system restore points on the source disk. System restore points are not included in the snapshot and can take up to 10% of the partition capacity.

Kind regards
By BuleriaChk - 14 May 2015 12:03 AM

I think it may be compression (I had the compression set to the medium default value (I had set it to no compression on earlier runs).  If so, if I have to re-clone the backup to a new SSD will there be a problem?  I'm just comparing the blue right hand bars of disk 1 and disk 4 (second partition of each).

Disk 1:      326.34 / 465.66 (Source)
Disk 4 :     256.41 / 465.65 (Target)

Bottom line: I suspect it is ok, I just need a warm fuzzy feeling.

Thanks,
Chuck
By Stephen - 14 May 2015 2:44 PM

Hi Chuck,

As @Nick has said ,system restore points are not included in the snapshot and can take up to 10% of the partition capacity.

There is nothing to worry about everything appears fine. Smile