possibility to review a list of changed files


Author
Message
art_man
art_man
New Member
New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 2, Visits: 11
Is it possiible to add such feature, as review a list of changed files? For example, I'm using Macrium Reflect as backup software, for drive with huge amount of photos (a few hundred thousans). From time to time they get damaged (broken) due to mistakes (malfunctions) HDD, or may be Windows, I don't know exactly.
And if I make a backup for an 8 TB disk, I will not even be able to suspect that I have such changes in part of the files, but they will be overwritten in the backup. And I will only be able to detect this error with broken image files when I need those files, which could be a year or even three years from now, when the original backup file may already be overwritten. However, if I had an optional possibility, in the process of creating a backup (incremental or differential), to view the list of changed files with their paths, then it would be very convenient, because in the case of image files - I know quite precisely which folders I've been working with (especially if I have the folders organized by years or otherwise), so if I see file changes in folders where I definitely haven't edited anything, I'll already know that those files are corrupted or unintentional changed.

jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 14K, Visits: 85K
If you’re using File & Folder backups, this already exists. There are logs of changed or deleted files separate from the main job log.

For image backups, read this KB article carefully to decide if you really want this: https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/plugins/servlet/mobile?contentId=47028967#content/view/47028967
art_man
art_man
New Member
New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)New Member (5 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 2, Visits: 11
jphughan - 18 November 2023 12:02 PM
If you’re using File & Folder backups, this already exists. There are logs of changed or deleted files separate from the main job log.For image backups, read this KB article carefully to decide if you really want this: https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/plugins/servlet/mobile?contentId=47028967#content/view/47028967

Thank you, I'll check it now!
Just wonder, is it possible to deploy it through the menu of a program (with restrictions, for"power users", e.t.c.) instead of such MS-DOS style with regedit?
P.S.
I used for backups option "whole drive". Have not tried yet " File & Folder backups", so it have to be easier with this option? I'll try it, thank you!

Edited 18 November 2023 12:56 PM by art_man
jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (22K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 14K, Visits: 85K
You’re welcome. Currently there isn’t a way to modify this option within the Reflect application. It’s pretty common for unusual and “debug” settings to be adjusted via direct registry change to avoid cluttering the application interface with options that will be irrelevant to the vast majority of users. And as the KB notes, this option isn’t really intended to be used as a permanent setup.
GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search