Wrong completion message, mail and log when backup is cancelled during verification


Wrong completion message, mail and log when backup is cancelled during...
Author
Message
Pim
Pim
Expert
Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)Expert (849 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 366, Visits: 4.7K
If a backup is cancelled during verification the log states “Backup and Verification Completed Successfully in hh:mm:ss”. I think this is incorrect and it should state “Backup Completed Successfully - Verification Cancelled”.
It gets a bit strange when comparing the logs for an image and for a File and Folder backup. The log for a F&F backup mentions “Backup and Verification Completed Successfully in hh:mm:ss. See log for full details” (in red in the log included in the email and in the backup progress window, in black in the log included on the Log tab) (see attachment #1) and the result is displayed as Cancelled in both the log and the Logs tab (see attachment #2). The log for an image says “Backup and Verification Completed Successfully in hh:mm:ss” without the addition “See log for full details” (see attachment #3) and the result is displayed as Success in both the log and the Logs tab (see attachment #4).

The addition “See log for full details” is actually also strange, because the log does not state that the image has been cancelled during verification. In fact, the "Cancelled" result and the statement “Backup and Verification Completed Successfully" are contradictory and there is no way to find out afterwards what has happened, unless one knows that this only occurs when a backup was cancelled during verification.

The mail that is sent is in both cases a success notification email, despite the cancellation. Also, only after opening the attached log file one can read that the backup was actually cancelled in case of a F&F backup. The log of an image does not give any indication that the image has been cancelled.





GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search