Any snapraid users?

Author
klepp0906
Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)Junior Member (57 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Is it possible to script a snapraid sync but only after a purge happens?  I use a GFS backup and when it hits its thresholds it purges the oldest sets of data.  

this is danger-zone with snapraid because a full backup set is a huge amount of data. 

if i were to have a disk fail after macrium purges like 1TB but before I sync again at the end of that day, i'd stand to lose 1TB of who knows what (depends on which disk failed).

ideally id have snapraid sync but only after it sees macrium run and purge.   as a non programmer I have no idea how to implement this or if theres even a way to trigger based on purge etc.
Beardy
Beardy
Expert
Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)Expert (817 reputation)
I'm not a snapraid user, that said:

Making a command run after every backup is as simple as having Macrium generate a script, placing the command after the backup in that script, testing it, & then scheduling it.
So sync every time should be simple.

Making it run contingent on old backups being purged is harder & depends on your ability to script detecting that old backups were purged.

Now the free advice:  If you're going to do RAID at all do it properly with a well known & widely used solution.
Ideally a proper hardware RAID card
Motherboard RAID if you must.
If you're doing software raid, again something widely used.
Storage Spaces
Dynamic Disks