WARNING - Retention rules have purged all backup sets in the destination folder.


Author
Message
Tony O'Connor
Tony O'Connor
New Member
New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 8, Visits: 43
i have a few questions:

1. Why is this now telling me this?
2. how can i turn it off?
3. Why is it causing Site Manager to tell me the backup failed when it clearly did not?
Alex
Alex
Macrium Representative
Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)Macrium Representative (515 reputation)
Group: Moderators
Posts: 275, Visits: 941
Tony O'Connor - 7 July 2021 8:31 AM
i have a few questions:

1. Why is this now telling me this?
2. how can i turn it off?
3. Why is it causing Site Manager to tell me the backup failed when it clearly did not?

Hi Tony,
This is a bug - it happens when retention rules are configured to retain 1 full backup and to run the purge of backups before the next backup. In normal operation, Reflect/the Agent will generate a warning when all backups are purged by retention rules before a new backup - this is because if the new backup fails, there will be no backups of the target system at all. The bug is that Reflect/the Agent should detect when these retention rules have been specifically asked for (e.g. Retain 1 full, purge before backup) instead of accidentally (e.g. Retain full backups newer than 10 days when all backups are old) and suppress the warning, but does not.
This has been fixed in version 8 of Site Manager. A patch will be released for version 7 Site Manager, but this may take some time. 

If some parts of the UI are showing a backup completion with warnings as errors/failures instead, could you report these on here or to our support team so we can investigate further?

A short-term workaround would be to change the Schedule to run the purge after backup - this would remove the warning, but until the new backup has finished, the old backup would be in the repository, resulting in additional disk space being used temporarily.

Kind Regards,

Alex

Macrium Development

Next Webinar

See our reviews on

Trustpilot Logo
Trustpilot Stars


Tony O'Connor
Tony O'Connor
New Member
New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)New Member (13 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 8, Visits: 43
ok, good to know

i await the patch for version 7 Site Manager
GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search