Configuring Shutdown After Backup


Author
Message
Stewart Ives
Stewart Ives
New Member
New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 25, Visits: 128
I know how to set SHUTDOWN after backup in the single client of Reflect but I'm looking for where it's set under Macrium Site Manager for the PC.

Can you point me in the right direction -or- can I only do it by going onto the remote PC directly and setting it up.

Thank you.

-stew

Alex
Alex
Macrium Representative
Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)Macrium Representative (496 reputation)
Group: Moderators
Posts: 273, Visits: 933
Stewart Ives - 8 March 2021 2:19 AM
I know how to set SHUTDOWN after backup in the single client of Reflect but I'm looking for where it's set under Macrium Site Manager for the PC.

Can you point me in the right direction -or- can I only do it by going onto the remote PC directly and setting it up.

Thank you.

-stew

Hi Stewart,
This is something that has to be set on the Agent PC directly at the moment - we are looking at the best way to provide shutdown in Site Manager configuration, unfortunately it's more complex than it seems, as there are many different use cases - for example:
  • Shutdown even if there are logged on users
  • Shutdown but offer any logged on user a chance to cancel
  • Shutdown regardless of logged on users
  • Wait until any program which has set the Windows OS flag 'don't shutdown while this program is running' has exited to shutdown
  • Only shutdown if Site Manager woke the computer up via Wake-on-LAN
If you'd like to leave some feedback on which of these options is appropriate for you, we'll take it into consideration as we develop the feature!


Kind Regards,

Alex

Macrium Development

Next Webinar

See our reviews on

Trustpilot Logo
Trustpilot Stars


Stewart Ives
Stewart Ives
New Member
New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)New Member (45 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 25, Visits: 128
Alex - 8 March 2021 3:41 PM
Stewart Ives - 8 March 2021 2:19 AM
I know how to set SHUTDOWN after backup in the single client of Reflect but I'm looking for where it's set under Macrium Site Manager for the PC.

Can you point me in the right direction -or- can I only do it by going onto the remote PC directly and setting it up.

Thank you.

-stew

Hi Stewart,
This is something that has to be set on the Agent PC directly at the moment - we are looking at the best way to provide shutdown in Site Manager configuration, unfortunately it's more complex than it seems, as there are many different use cases - for example:
  • Shutdown even if there are logged on users
  • Shutdown but offer any logged on user a chance to cancel
  • Shutdown regardless of logged on users
  • Wait until any program which has set the Windows OS flag 'don't shutdown while this program is running' has exited to shutdown
  • Only shutdown if Site Manager woke the computer up via Wake-on-LAN
If you'd like to leave some feedback on which of these options is appropriate for you, we'll take it into consideration as we develop the feature!

Alex, thanks for the info. I take it when you talk about setting the shutdown on the Agent PC you are referring to Other Tasks -> Reflect Defaults -> Backup -> Shutdown and making the choices there.

As to different cases for shutdown, my optimal would be for "Shutdown but offer any logged on user a chance to cancel" Say maybe give them 30 seconds to make that decision with the options to Shutdown Now or to Cancel Shutdown. Although, if the OS is a Server OS I would not provide such a capability at all. Only for PC's/Workstations.
Just my 2 cents and about worth that.

-stew




Radek
Radek
New Member
New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)New Member (1 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 1, Visits: 8
Hi Stewart, 

If you make a chose in agent like you show in post, this option working in your pc? In my it isn't working when the task is send from site manager.
Did you find some solution for this problem?
GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search