Group: Forum Members
Drac144 is correct. The disk space purge option, as the wording indicates, will delete the oldest SETS when space drops below the specified threshold -- but the CURRENT set is never considered for purging, because if Reflect deleted your current set, i.e. the latest Full and any of its child backups, then the Incremental you were creating would become useless. The key distinction to be aware of here is again that the option applies to entire SETS. That has a few implications:
- Again, it will only delete previous Fulls, including all of their child backups. It will NOT delete just Diff or Inc backups in older sets, nor will it delete any Diff or Inc backups in the CURRENT set sooner than your retention policy specifies, which is what you seem to have expected would happen.
- If your disk space drops below your defined threshold while you are creating a FULL, then that option could potentially delete ALL of the existing backups at your destination before the running Full completes. This creates a significant risk, because it means that there will be a period during which you have NO backups at your destination, and therefore if that Full subsequently fails and THEN you have some sort of incident on your PC, you'll have nothing to recover from. Unless of course your backup strategy incorporates something like a disk rotation or backup replication to another location.
- The fact that the option acts on entire sets at a time makes it a much more of a blunt instrument than a retention policy, which can delete individual Diff/Inc backups within a set. For that reason, you should not rely on that option as a substitute for specifying a retention policy that is appropriate for the size of your backups and your destination capacity. That option is sort of a last resort for situations where you would be willing to lose entire previous sets sooner than your Full retention policy specifies in exchange for the running backup completing rather than failing due to lack of capacity.