Macrium rescue caching NAS credentials?


Author
Message
dyhs
dyhs
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 184, Visits: 725
Today I booted to Rescue Environment from the Macrium option in Windows 10 boot menu
 (MR 6.3.1835 UEFI PE10).
Then I browsed the NAS on the local network where my backup images are stored.
To my surprise, I did *not* have to enter network credentials, which I usually always have to enter in order to access the network drive.
I was allowed to open an image file without providing my password.
My question is: how was that even possible? Can MR rescue cache network credentials? In case, how do I clear them?
p.s. In regular Windows the network password is requested and I never tick the "Remember my credentials" check box.



dyhs
dyhs
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 184, Visits: 725

Tried again after a Windows reboot. This time network credentials were requested as usual (in order to access the NAS from MR rescue environment, booting from the MR recovery option in Windows 10 boot menu). How weird! Maybe something is wrong with my NAS?


Froggie
Froggie
Macrium Hero
Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)Macrium Hero (2.3K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 1.4K, Visits: 12K
Possibly a NAS timeout issue...
dyhs
dyhs
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 184, Visits: 725
Thanks Froggie.
Looking for "NAS timeout issue" I could find this old post with a thorough explanation by Nick about network share persistence.
https://forum.macrium.com/PrintTopic6656.aspx
In fact, I had run a manual backup in Windows a few minutes before rebooting to rescue.



Edited 20 September 2017 9:40 PM by dyhs
jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 10K, Visits: 64K
I remember reading something somewhere that credentials stored under Edit Defaults > Network are in fact baked into Rescue Media.  I have not tested this, however.

dyhs
dyhs
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 184, Visits: 725
jphughan - 21 September 2017 2:08 AM
I remember reading something somewhere that credentials stored under Edit Defaults > Network are in fact baked into Rescue Media.  I have not tested this, however.

Most times Rescue asks for credentials, as if it didn't have them "baked in". 
Only a few times Rescue Media accessed the network drive without asking for credentials. That could be explained with persistence (I had just made a manual backup in Windows before rebooting to MR Rescue), even though I don't get why it happens in Rescue. Does MR Rescue use same users as MR6.3 in Windows?
jphughan
jphughan
Macrium Evangelist
Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)Macrium Evangelist (15K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 10K, Visits: 64K
dyhs - 21 September 2017 11:53 AM
jphughan - 21 September 2017 2:08 AM
I remember reading something somewhere that credentials stored under Edit Defaults > Network are in fact baked into Rescue Media.  I have not tested this, however.

Most times Rescue asks for credentials, as if it didn't have them "baked in". 
Only a few times Rescue Media accessed the network drive without asking for credentials. That could be explained with persistence (I had just made a manual backup in Windows before rebooting to MR Rescue), even though I don't get why it happens in Rescue. Does MR Rescue use same users as MR6.3 in Windows?

If persistence is correct, it would have to be on the NAS side, i.e. it accepted a new connection from a new OS without authentication simply because the source IP matched (presumably).  A NAS that did that would not sit well with me.  Client-side persistence would not explain this behavior because your main Windows OS and Rescue are completely different operating systems, so there would be no connection state or credential cache sharing between them.

Reflect V6 didn't have Edit Defaults  > Network because it used the credentials of the scheduled backup user for NAS authentication (or those of the logged-on user for jobs run interactively).  The Network interface was added for V7 because it switched to running the job itself as SYSTEM, initially as the sole option and later just as the default, which created the need for an alternative means of authenticating to network resources, and since you posted this in the V7 section, my answer pertained to V7. Smile

Of course any credentials added to Network after you built your Rescue Media would not be cached on it, and I don't know if just generating new Rescue Media would be sufficient to update it or if you'd have to go through the entire Rebuild process.  But if you're running in "V6 mode", i.e. specifying a scheduled backup user other than SYSTEM under Edit Defaults > User and using those credentials to talk to the NAS, then I don't think my earlier post would apply because I don't think Reflect caches those credentials in Rescue Media. After all, those credentials are for an admin account in the "live" Windows environment and won't necessarily be used for anything else like NAS authentication, so they wouldn't necessarily be useful in Rescue.-- and for people who need NAS authentication, V7 has an alternative that Macrium recommends using instead as a best practice.

Edited 21 September 2017 12:57 PM by jphughan
dyhs
dyhs
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)Proficient Member (307 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Posts: 184, Visits: 725
My bad. I posted in the V7 section while I should have posted in V6.

GO

Merge Selected

Merge into selected topic...



Merge into merge target...



Merge into a specific topic ID...




Reading This Topic

Login

Explore
Messages
Mentions
Search