Incremental Forever (Synthetic Full Backup)

Author
phrab
Proficient Member
Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)Proficient Member (252 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm fairly new to Macrium Reflect, but not new to backups, having used Acronis True Image for over a decade.  My plan was to use the Incremental Forever option, backing up every other day for a month or two.  I always have options set to verify immediately.  Then I switch to another external drive (each of which is 2TB) & do the same thing.  My questions are these:
1.  When MR creates a Synthetic Full backup, what's the danger that this full backup becomes corrupt?  I'm worried that after, say, a month & 1/2, the original full backup, or even the first incremental, becomes corrupt.  Does my plan seem reasonable.
2.  If I want to delete an older backup set, can I do this after the fact or do I have to decide on "retention rules" before I run my backup set?
Thank you in advance,
Phil

Phil
Windows 10 Pro
Windows XP- SP-3

Richard V.
Richard V.
Most Valuable Professional
Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)Most Valuable Professional (4.1K reputation)